nobody made a greater mistake

I finally went to hot yoga today after not going for almost a year and I forgot how much I love it and how amazing I feel after. I prefer hot yoga because I love to sweat and I feel cleansed when the class is over. The yoga instructor today said something that really resonated with me.

“Nobody made a greater mistake than he who did nothing because he could only do a little.” ~Edmund Burke

I looked it up when I got home and turns out it is a quote by Edmund Burke, who was an Irish statesmen and member of the Whig party who served in the House of Commons of Great Britain.

We are often so overwhelmed with our constant and growing “to-do” lists that we end up doing nothing at all. This reminded me that little steps will make a big difference and eventually lead to accomplishing your goal. I have been wanting to start a blog for years but the thought of wanting to make it perfect and wanting to write something that people were interested in was daunting to me. This was exactly what I needed to hear today and I am so grateful I decided to go to that class.

So go out and clean a little portion of the garage each weekend, read just a few pages of that book you’ve been meaning to start, or add a few more fruits and vegetables to your diet. You will soon realize doing little bits at a time are more rewarding than doing nothing at all.

~S

Leave a Reply

